Monday Musings: Driving in the Light

 “But everything exposed by the light becomes visible…” Ephesians 5:13

The other day, I found myself driving to the store at sunrise.  Normally, I get my groceries delivered (Grocery delivery through safeway.com is awesome!  I buy one participating baby product and get my delivery for free!) but I had failed to fully plan ahead on this particular day and needed a few items.  Since I do my best to avoid taking four children to the grocery store, I rose quite early so that I could get the stuff I needed and get back before my husband needed to leave for work.  (Proverbs 31 comes to mind: “She rises while it is still night. She provides food for her family.”  I totally relate.)

As I was driving  down the road, the sun shone down on my windshield that had not been washed in quite some time, and it seemed almost opaque.  I quickly turned on my windshield wipers and I was pretty impressed with the change.  It was quite a drastic difference!  I had not realized how dirty I had let it get.  It had happened so gradually that it took the glare of the rising sun to reveal it.

It struck me that I had been letting this happen in my spiritual life.  In the past few months, I have

“Abide in Me, and I in you. As the branch cannot bear fruit of itself unless it abides in the vine, so neither can you unless you abide in Me. ” John 15:4

been quite busy.  I had a new baby, I moved and I’m trying to get settled while caring for four children, my mother also moved from the house where she has lived for the last 18 years, and July is always a busy month with a national holiday, three birthdays, and our anniversary.  So in the midst of this craziness, my time with the Lord has been sporadic at best.  And like with the windshield, I have let sin gradually creep in.  My thoughts are more unkind, I’m more impatient with my family, I am more easily angered, more selfish.  I feel a little more entitled to God’s blessings than grateful for them.  And like the revelation by the sun upon my windshield, I see my sin more clearly as the Son shines His light upon me.  Spending time with Him gives me the opportunity to repent and let Him wash me clean.  And once I’m walking in step with the Spirit again, I am amazed at the difference!

Then Jesus again spoke to them, saying, “ I am the Light of the world; he who follows Me will not walk in the darkness, but will have the Light of life.” John 8:12

Being a mom is hard work.  There are constant interruptions, stickiness and dirt that find their way everywhere, and clumsiness that wreaks havoc upon my possessions.  It takes strength, energy, patience.   And then there is immaturity that grates and my sins displayed in their behavior.  It takes grace, humility, and faithfulness.  I really need to abide in Christ and let His words abide in me to be able to do this parenting thing right.  This is an extremely important job God has given me and I’ve only got one shot at it!  I am so thankful that grace and forgiveness abound in Christ.  I need it!

Driving in the sunlight was a good reminder!  Spend time every day with the Light of the World so His light can shine through me!

 

Leave a Reply

