Top 25: Preschool Books

We really enjoy books over here.  Here are our 25 favorite from this last year:

1.  Good Night Gorilla by Peggy Rathmann- It is a pretty cute little bedtime board book.

2.  My Father’s Hands by Joanne Ryder- Beautiful book about a daughter spending time with her father in his garden.  This is a truly wonderful book.

3.  Feeding the Sheep by Leda Schubert- Cute illustrations and a great explanation of how you care for sheep and then make a sweater.

4.  Charlie Needs a Cloak by Tomie dePaola- Another fun tale of sheep and sweater making.

5.  Story About Ping by Marjorie Flack- An adventurous tale that my children enjoyed and I enjoyed reading to them as it brought back memories from special times at my Grandmother’s house.

6.  The Little Engine That Could by Watty Piper and Loren Long- I bought this book to read at my son’s train party.  This is definitely a favorite of all my children (well, the three that can indicate what book they would like to read).  They ask for it again and again.  And again, I am happy to read this as I listened to this story on my Fisher Price record player! (Anyone else remember that little toy?)  The version we own has great illustrations!

7.  Blueberries for Sal by Robert McCloskey- Cute little story.

8.  Make Way for Ducklings by Robert McCloskey- Another cute little story.  I lived this story in April when I was driving on the freeway to take my children to Awana.  I actually had to break for a mother duck leading her little ducklings across the road.  Wow!  I’m really not sure how they managed to make it.  This question is left for me to ponder: Why did the ducks cross the road?

9.  Stone Soup by Marcia Brown- This was a fun story and my  kids acted it out for days.  Well, they gathered all the little pebbles and rocks they could find, put them in a bucket, turned on the hose and called it “Stone Soup.”

10.  Miss Rumphius by Barbara Cooney- A sweet little story, though not very exciting for my son.

11.  Tale of the Three Trees by Angela Hunt- I read this story to my kids every Easter and Christmas.  Their reaction is mostly bewilderment because I can NOT get through that book without crying.  I love Jesus so much!  (Also, I’ve been pregnant during many holidays lately… that also might contribute to the all-out sobbing involved… hence my children’s confusion.)

12.  Little Tim & the Brave Sea Captain by Edward Ardizzone- An exciting adventure on the high seas!

13.  You Are Special by Max Lucado- I have always enjoyed this book, but it went a little over my children’s heads.  They don’t particularly care about what others think of them yet.  Yay!

14.  Little Old Man by Natalie Norton- I found this book on my mother’s bookshelf, it brought back memories and so I absconded with it.

15.  Color Kittens by Margaret Wise Brown- The kids ask for this story occasionally (we have it in a collection of Little Golden Books).  My daughter loves art and kittens, so this is the culmination of her delights.  If you were to add cooking and dancing there would not be room on the internet to describe her ecstasy.  Anyway, we sometimes read this book and then do painting things… that is pretty fun.

16.  Home for a Bunny by Margaret Wise Brown- Another book I lifted from my mother’s shelf.  My princess also likes bunnies and the illustrations in this book are quite engaging.  We all like this book.

17.  The Little Red Hen by Carol Ottolenghi- When we read this story, we made bread (you can read about that here).  I like this story for the same reason my mom did- to teach the kids to help out!

18.  If You Give a Dog a Donut by Laura Numeroff- This is cute little story.  We created our own versions of this after we read it.  They were a lot of fun.

19.  Bartholomew and the Oobleck by Dr. Seuss- We all enjoyed this story.  I think I will read it again this year and use this recipe for making oobleck!  All the kids could really get into that!

20.  Corduroy by Don Freeman- A cute tale of a teddy and the girl who became his friend.  The kids occasionally ask for this one.

21.  The Twelve Dancing Princess by Marianna Mayer and illustrated by K.Y. Craft- We, and especially my daughter,  really enjoyed this fairytale.  The illustrations are truly spectacular.

22.  King Midas and the Golden Touch by Charlotte Craft and illustrated by K.Y. Craft-   A touching tale lavishly illustrated- this is my daughter’s favorite book.  She slowly turns the pages, gazing at the pictures, her eyes drinking in all the gilded details.  I highly recommend it.

23.  Winnie the Pooh by AA Milne- My kids didn’t really get into this book.  I’m not sure if they were too young or if they didn’t get the references or just aren’t into stories about a stuffed bear who loves his honey.  I enjoyed it so I think I will probably give it another try this year.

24.  The Complete Tales of Beatrix Potter– We definitely enjoyed these.  My kids were so excited every day for the next “bunny story.”  (It’s true- they are not all about bunnies, but our copy has Peter Rabbit on the cover, hence the title.)  We ended up stopping part way through “The Tale of Little Pig Robinson.”  It is a long story and it was around that time that I had a baby.  Everything paused at that point.

25.  James Herriot’s Treasury for Children– Delightful stories about a veterinarian who works in rural England.  Again, the kids anxiously anticipated our animal story time each day.

There you have it: our favorite preschool books.  I am thrilled that they love books so much!  And I am quite thankful that some of them are out of the really boring book phase- you know- where they have pictures and thrilling text like: “Egg Cup” or “Bath Towel” or “Monkey”.  They loved them for some reason and I think these types of books are how they learned colors, numbers, animals and their sounds, and so on.  But still- hooray for real plot and character development!

Leave a Reply

