Monday Musings: Looking Up

“The heavens declare the glory of God, the skies proclaim the work of His hand.” Psalm 19:1

The other day I was at the park with my boys (my girl was at her dance class).  It was a beautiful day.  Perhaps it was even more beautiful because it was so stinkin’ hot earlier in the week.  I decided to let Z-urchin out of his stroller so I put him in the swing.  We’ve been studying birds lately, so I thought I would look up to see if I could spot any.  I didn’t see any birds, but the tree branches swaying and providing a rich green design with a cloudy sky backdrop was so gorgeous that I just had to stare.  And then run and get my camera and take a picture.   What a beautiful world God has given us.

Looking up into the great expanse of the sky, gazing at puffy white clouds floating by, watching the tree branches sway in the breeze, seeing leaves fall and birds fly… these refresh my spirit.  It reminds me of the verse from Colossians 3, “Set your minds on things above, not on earthly things.”  Of course, the sky and the trees are in fact earthly things, but they declare the glory of the Heavenly One.  They point toward our Creator and seem to whisper to me, “Just look at how great He is!  See how vast His love and His power and His wisdom that He would grant this world so much beauty and complexity!”  Looking up at the sky reminds me to continually praise Him and thank Him for His good gifts to me.

So throughout my day today, I am going to try to “look up” to the Lord in prayer and ponder His greatness and goodness.  It will refresh my soul and help me have the strength, joy, and peace I need to deal with the various challenges I face during my day.  I will set my mind and heart on things above by meditating on His Word, by being thankful in all circumstances, and by proclaiming His great works to the next generation.  “This is the day that the Lord has made!  Let us rejoice and be glad in it!”

Leave a Reply

