Books on my Bedside Table

Linda Fay at charlottemasonhelp.com (my favorite Charlotte Mason website) writes about her family’s “Ten Habits of a Happy Homeschool.”  One of them is this:

“I keep four books going at all times by my bedside and read ½ hour before bed, choosing whatever book I am in the mood for at the time. (fiction, spiritual, nonfiction and a child’s book I am proofreading)”

Charlotte Mason talks about the need for “Mother Culture”- time to herself to read, think, and remember.  She explains that it is important for mothers to grow so that they can relate to their children later.

Mother must have time to herself. And we must not say ‘I cannot.’ Can any of us say till we have tried, not for one week, but for one whole year, day after day, that we ‘cannot’ get one half-hour out of the twenty-four for ‘Mother Culture?’–one half-hour in which we can read, think, or ‘remember.’

But, if we would do our best for our children, grow we must; and on our power of growth surely depends, not only our future happiness, but our future usefulness.  (Charlotte Mason, Vol. III)

A few weeks ago, I decided to put a few books next to my bed in hopes that I would be able to start this habit of reading 1/2 hour before going to sleep.  So I have three books on my nightstand right now: fiction, spiritual,  and non-fiction/child’s book I’m reading through.

1.  The Adventures of Sherlock Holmes (on my Kindle).  I was compelled to read these after watching the first episode of the series Sherlock on Netflix and because my sister told me that she reads one Sherlock Holmes chapter a night.  My sister has good ideas.

2.  What is a Family by Edith Schaeffer.  A friend lent this book to me and told me that it had encouraged her in some ways.  I look forward to being encouraged!

3.  Drawing with Children by Mona Brookes.  A friend recommended this book and said that she was going through this with her daughter.  My daughter has told me often that her favorite part of school is the drawing.  She also seems to get frustrated when her drawings don’t turn out “right.”  So I thought she would enjoy going through this book with me.  As I read it, I am actually getting excited about learning to draw as well!

So I guess the first habit I need to work on is going to bed early enough to have a half an hour to read a chapter before going to sleep!

4 thoughts on “Books on my Bedside Table

  1. Those look like some good reads! I completely gave up reading when I started having kids, but now that they are 3 & 4 yrs old, I find that I have more time and energy for that and so I’ve also started reading more . . . I didn’t realize how much I missed learning, challenging my mind, or just enjoying a good story 🙂

  2. Yours are close in age, then, like mine! It is hard to find time to read! A blog post is often all I have time for. 🙂 But it is true that challenging my mind and giving my mind ideas to feast upon and ponder is good for me on so many levels. It is good for my marriage, as it gives me something to discuss with my husband and then I think it will be good in the future for my kids to have a mom who can discuss deep things with them. If I want them to be readers, I have to model it! However, finding the time for it is still a work in progress! 🙂

  3. Pingback: Highlights of Charlotte Mason’s Volume 1, Part 1 | Following Footprints

  4. Pingback: Books I’m Reading Now | Following Footprints

Leave a Reply

