Monday Musings: My New Year’s Resolution

Of making lists there is no end

Of making lists there is no end

January is a great time for new resolutions.  The holiday season is over and it is time to get back in the swing of things.  There is something very refreshing about getting back to normal.  It works well that there is a new year to ring in and a fresh start in the calendar.

It always takes me a few weeks of intermittent pondering (while doing dishes or driving or something equally routine) to come up with what I’d like to change or focus on for the year.  Two years ago, I resolved to do nothing out of false guilt, make no decisions (especially calendar decisions) based on other’s expectations of me… or perhaps actually my perception of other’s expectations of me.  Last year, I decided to be a finisher.  I would finish the projects I started.  I had- and honestly, still have, though hopefully to a lesser degree- a problem with getting all excited about a project and then halfway through, getting bored of thinking about it and moving on to the next project before the first was completed.  I am still working on these things.

In the past week and a half, I’ve had a couple of longer drives (We went 2 hours north, to visit my mother-in-law and I went to visit a dear college friend I haven’t seen in 9 years- both visits were wonderful).  So I’ve had some good pondering time.

This year’s resolution:  Stop planning and start doing!  

Okay, not stop planning entirely.

I love planning.  I love lists.  I love calendars, routines, systems, organizing.  And it is good to plan.  It is wise to start the day with a plan.  Proverbs 21:5 says, “The plans of the diligent lead surely to abundance, but everyone who is hasty comes only to poverty.”

Why I prefer to make lists rather than accomplish things- all good things get undone by small children

Why I prefer to make lists rather than accomplish things- all good things get undone by small children

However, I feel that the passage about the making of many books in Ecclesiastes could be speaking to me about list making: “Of making many books there is no end, and much study is a weariness of the flesh.”  Ecclesiastes 12:12b

I think that sometimes, when a hard task is before me, making lists and plans is a way to procrastinate.  There really is no end to the lists and plan I could make.  But I need to get up from the table and start working on my list.  So therefore, my goal this year is to spend less time planning- make enough of one to go on- and more time doing.

So I’m off to make dinner and throw a load of laundry in the wash!

Leave a Reply

