Outdoor Hour Challenge: Our Rock Collection

Enthusiasm for rock collecting led to this

Enthusiasm for rock collecting led to this

Our rock adventures with the Rock Study Grid for this month’s focus with the Outdoor Hour Challenge inspired the kids.  They were very excited about Rock Walks and collecting cool rocks in the backyard.  One day they got particularly enthusiastic and when our little tray filled up, they just dumped the rest of the rocks they found (in handfuls) on the carpet in my living room.  When I objected, X-man exclaimed, “But Mom, all of these rocks are my collection!”

I did finally overcome my loathing to curb their enthusiasm and got the rocks back outside (though ever since, I have found many small rocks in far corners of the living room and in Shortstop’s mouth).  So our next Nature Study found us in our backyard on a “Rock Hunt.”  I listed the adjectives from the rock study grid on an index card (all my printer paper had been used up by little artists- this happens frequently) and we had fun looking for different types of rocks.

We then took the rocks that matched our descriptions inside to draw them.  We enjoyed drawing the rocks we found.  The drawing process got us to slow down and look at each rock closely and notice the variety of colors and textures.

Then we stacked those rocks on a placemat on our table and it is our centerpiece.  The stack gets dismantled at every meal, but that means that the kids are interacting with the rocks and this is a good thing.  My precious 4 year old Princess K told me the other day, “Mom, I really like learning about rocks!”  Delight fills my heart and a grin covers my face every time I think of her words.

Backyard Rock Hunt

Backyard Rock Hunt

Ready to draw in our nature journals

Ready to draw in our nature journals

Hard at work

Hard at work

Getting her drawing just right

Getting her drawing just right

Princess K's entry

Princess K’s entry

X-man's entry

X-man’s entry

My entry

My entry

Our rock collection centerpiece

Our rock collection centerpiece

3 thoughts on “Outdoor Hour Challenge: Our Rock Collection

  1. I really love the idea of a rock stack in the middle of the table…one that needs to be moved every day. What a great way to interact with the rocks. Your journals are fantastic! Thank you so much for sharing your rock grid study with the carnival.

  2. I like the idea of the list of words and finding rocks to go with it. The journal entries are fantastic. That is where we usually fall short, so something to work on. The centerpiece idea is perfect, because the conversation continues.

    Thanks,
    Sarah

  3. Pingback: Outdoor Hour Challenge Blog Carnival – Rocks Edition

Leave a Reply

