Happy Pi Day!

Pumpkin Pi

Pumpkin Pi

I am surrounded by Math Nerds.  Or Geeks.  There is a whole internet war about the distinction between these two terms.  My sister and my husband are at war on this front, actually.  And speaking of them, they are two of those Nerd/Geeks that surround me.  And they take this day- this important holiday- very seriously.

My sister has several clever Pi shirts (like this one, for example) and has celebrated this day, March 14- 3.14-  for several years.  Since my husband loves math and pi, I decided that we would celebrate this day as well.  It certainly is not entirely due to the fact that I’ll take any excuse to eat pie!

So therefore, this afternoon, I pulled out my mom’s good old pumpkin pie recipe, and made some pie.  I did have to substitute brown sugar in for most of the white sugar and in doing so, discovered something amazing.  I might have to do it this way all the time.  Brown sugar gives a fuller, richer flavor and I really like it.

My husband carved the symbol and Z-urchin helped embellish it.  All of my kids helped eat it while listening intently to Daddy’s Pi lesson.  In fact, X-man did not want the lesson to be over.  He kept getting more and more sheets of paper so he could keep learning.

What did I say… I’m surrounded!

Embellishing the Pi

Embellishing the Pi

Eating the Pie

Eating the Pie

This holiday is so significant, we even let the baby have some pie!

This holiday is so significant, we even let the baby have some pie!

A Lesson on Pi

A Lesson on Pi

Happy kids!

Happy kids!

Happy Pi Day, Everyone!

Leave a Reply

