Outdoor Hour in the Snow

Last Saturday, I took four young children on a plane and traveled across the country to visit my family on the East Coast.  Yes, that was as harrowing and horrible as it sounds.  But that’s a story for another time.

The awesome thing is that my California born and bred children and I arrived just after a great snow storm.  The kids have never seen snow and so this has been a very fun week for us!  All of our outdoor hours have been spent in exploring the snow- it’s sight and smell and sound and taste and feel.

On our first full day on the East Coast, we donned a bunch of borrowed snow gear and headed out to my mom’s back yard.

Bundled up for their first  foray into the snow

Bundled up for their first foray into the snow

That first day in the snow was an absolute blast.  We stomped in the crunchy snow, had snow fights, built a snowman, and made actual snow angels (no sand angels this time- winter fun truly achieved!) and built a snowman.  We also all rolled down the hill a few times too.  It was fun, but wow, was I ever dizzy.

Snow Fight!

Snow Fight!

Crunching the snow beneath our feet, Rolling down the hill, and our Snowman

Crunching the snow beneath our feet, Rolling down the hill, and our Snowman

Snow Angels! (I made this after I rolled down the hill and was too dizzy to get up)

Snow Angels! (I made this after I rolled down the hill and was too dizzy to get up)

The next day the kids were so excited to head outside again.  We found big chunks of snow and they started throwing them and it was a really good thing that they had such bad aim.  Those chunks of snow were hard.

More snow fights

More snow fights

To distract them and get them to stop throwing ice chunks at me and each other, I got out the cardboard box again to see if we would have better success in sliding down the hill than we had the day before.

Cardboard box sledding

Cardboard box sledding

It totally worked.  And it was so fun.  I joined right in with the kids flying down the hill and then running back up to do it again.

4 Me and the kids

Snow exploration

Snow exploration

After awhile we were tired, so we wandered around the yard looking at the way the snow glistened and sparkled, the way it was stacked up on the edge of the road and feeling how deep it was when our boots sank into it.  We wrote letters and messages in the snow and when we talked about what snow was made of, X-man decided to taste it.  He then exclaimed, “I didn’t know that snow was so tasty!  This is like a treat!”  For the next few days, all that kid wanted for dessert was snowballs.

3 Snow Play5

2 We miss you

I didn't know snow was so tasty!

“I didn’t know that snow was so tasty!”

Princess K then decided that her hands were cold and she was done with playing in the snow for the day.  She went inside for snack and hot cocoa with Grandma and X-man and I went back to sliding down the hill and playing in the snow.  I used some snowy ice chunks to build myself a snow wall that I called my Ice Castle.  X-man, in true little boy fashion, saw a snow structure and decided to take it down.

My Ice Castle is Conquered

My Ice Castle is Conquered

Hail the Conquering Hero

Hail the Conquering Hero

Cozy

Looks Cozy

The next day, the snow was beginning to melt.  Now the other kids were more willing to join us outside, though only barely.  More snowball fights and stomping in snow ensued.  X-man came up with a brilliant game called “Let’s throw snowballs at the wall and see how high we can get them.”  Honestly, for a 6 year old, the height was impressive.

3 Snow Play10

Shortstop stayed determinedly in the part of the backyard without snow.

X-man's Snowball Game

X-man’s Snowball Game

5 Snowball

I’m pretty sure that I think that all this fun in the snow and of course the time with my family has made up for that plane trip.  Almost.

2 thoughts on “Outdoor Hour in the Snow

  1. Pingback: A Tale of Two Journeys: The Departure | Following Footprints

  2. Pingback: Outdoor Hour Challenge: Welcome to Spring! | Following Footprints

Leave a Reply

